Facts about South Carolina

South Carolina became the eighth state to ratify the U.S. Constitution, on May 23, 1788. South Carolina became the first state to vote in favor of secession from the Union on December 20, 1860. After the American Civil War, it was readmitted into the United States on June 25, 1868. South Carolina is named in honor of King Charles I of England, who first formed the English colony, with Carolus being Latin for “Charles”.[7]

Here’s a list of fun facts about the state of South Carolina:

State Capital: Columbia

State Nickname: The Palmetto State

Population: 5 Million

Governor: Henry McMaster

Largest City: Charleston

Land Area: 32,000 Square Miles

Coastline: 187 Miles

Largest Barrier Island: Hilton Head

State Animal: White-tail Deer

State Tree: Palmetto

State Gemstone: Amethyst

State Flower: Yellow Jasmine

State Bird: Carolina Wren

State Fruit: Peach

State Reptile: Loggerhead Turtle

State Motto: “While I Breathe, I Hope”

State Song: “Carolina”

State Dance: The Shag